Primrose Hub still on top of the Premier League log

Primrose Hub cricketers Kieran Bowers, left, and Callum Sayers, pictured here with coach Shahied Adonis, continue to top the batting and bowling log of the Cape Town Premier League Cricket Tournament.

Cricket South Africa’s Primrose Hub under-13 team continued their winning streak to hold top position in the Cape Town Premier League (CPL) Cricket Tournament.

After the third week of play, the Hub team has played four and won four matches.

In a clash last week, Primrose Hub beat Durbanville Cricket Club Renegades by 87 runs to stretch their lead on top of the table by 18 points, and with it booking their place in the quarter finals.

Primrose Hub won the toss and elected to bat first, setting a target of 165. Durbanville, playing at home, replied with 77 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

The top batsman award went to Kieran Bowers, who scored 99 runs off 63 balls, and the top bowler award went to Callum Sayers, who claimed two wickets for five runs.

Both Hub boys remain at the top of the CPL batting and bowling log out of the 157 players participating.

Bowers tops the batting log with 312 runs, and Sayers tops the bowling log with eight wickets.

Xavier Garvs (Somerset West CC) is second on the batting log with 156 runs, followed by Abdullah Adams (Primrose Hub) in third place with 153 runs, and Fahad Khan (Primrose Hub) at fourth with 151 runs.

Christiaan Kotze (Durbanville Renegades) is number two on the bowling log with six wickets, Roland Vivier (Durbanville Crusaders) is no 3 with 5 wickets, Uzayr Fakier (Primrose Hub) at number four with five wickets, and Abdullah Adams (Primrose Hub) at no 10 with 4 wickets.

Hub coach, Shahied Adonis, says on a tricky pre-season turf wicket, the key to posting a formidable total is to assess the pitch and then to decide which scoring shots will be suitable for this type of wicket. “Thumbs up to our boys for brilliant application,” he said.

Primrose Hub tops log B with 32 points, followed by Cape Town Invitational with 14 points. Bellville Thunder and Durbanville Renegades have eight points each, All Rounder Smashers six points, and Somerset West CC no points.

Log A has Sunningdale CC and Durbanville Crusaders with 14 points each, Sun Valley PS eight points, All Rounder All Stars six points, and Green Point Giants and Blue Bells CC no points.

The next rounds of the CPL T20 matches will take place over the next two weekends, with the quarter finals on Sunday September 9 and semis and finals on Sunday September 16, at Durbanville Cricket Club.

Primrose Hub is part of the 67 Cricket South Africa Hub and Regional Performance Centres programme, which focus on transfer of skill to produce quality cricketers.