Neighbourhood watch award nominations

Neighbourhood watch chairpersons are, from left, Whilma Jethro of Diaz Village, Omar Ryklief of Italian, Patricia van der Ross, standing in for George Nelson of Klip and Levina Goliath of Sullivan Strauss.
The City of Cape Town has opened the nominations process for the annual Neighbourhood Watch Awards.

Now in its second year, the Neighbourhood Watch Awards celebrates and acknowledges the achievements and contributions of individuals and groups who help build safer communities.

The nomination process will close on Friday March 8.

Nominations can be submitted for an individual or a group/team.

Mayoral committee member for safety and security, JP Smith, said: “There are thousands of neighbourhood watch members who put in the hard yards to keep their families and communities safe. It is an often thankless task, particularly in areas where serious and violent crime prevails. But they persevere, for the greater good. These awards are but a token of our appreciation for all that they do. Without their contribution our public safety efforts would be far less effective.”

Visit for a full nomination list.