Junior council

The Junior City Council (JCC) elected representatives for its executive committee on Saturday March 17. The executive committee consists of the junior mayor, junior deputy mayor, junior speaker and junior chief whip. The JCC comprises 150 pupils from across the city. Officials from the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) were present at the meeting to ensure that the election process was free and fair. From left are Sibongiseni Sigodi, junior chief whip, from Oval North High School in Mitchell’s Plain; Sinovuyo Mankayi, junior mayor, from Rhodes High School Iin Mowbray; Alessio Marcus, deputy junior mayor, from Beacon Hill High School; also in Mitchell’s Plain and the junior speaker, Jule Booysen, from Bernadino Heights High School in Kraaifontein.